Koepka upset after officials deny free relief: 'If I break my wrist ...'
Warning: Tweet contains coarse language
Brooks Koepka ain't happy.
The Ryder Cup has been going swimmingly for the Americans as Team USA held a commanding 6-2 lead entering Day 2's proceedings. However, during Saturday morning's foursome sessions, Koepka and his partner, Daniel Berger, hit a bit of a rut.
After the American ball ended up wedged in the lip of a bunker near a drain outlet on hole No. 15, Koepka wanted free relief because he thought the outlet would interfere with his swing.
While explaining his position to officials, Koepka asked, "Have you ever seen me hit a ball?" At least Sergio Garcia thought it was funny.
Another referee then joined the situation, but neither official was having it.
Koepka clearly wasn't pleased with their ruling. He pointed at each of them and said, "If I break my wrist, it's on the f------ both of you."
The 31-year-old's status for the Ryder Cup was in question earlier this month due to a wrist injury that forced him to withdraw from the third round of the TOUR Championship.
Everything turned out just fine for the eighth-ranked golfer - he shot a beauty right onto the green following the lengthy spat.
Spaniards Jon Rahm and Garcia came back from down three after three to defeat Koepka and Berger and earn the first point of the day, 3&1.