Reed feels he got raw deal after losing by 2 shots in Bahamas
David Cannon / David Cannon Collection / Getty

Patrick Reed finished the Hero World Challenge in third place and two shots behind the winner, Henrik Stenson, the same number of strokes he was docked for his sand-sweeping incident in Round 3.

After shooting a 6-under 66 during the final round in the Bahamas, Reed was asked if he feels like he got a raw deal.

"Of course I do," Reed said, according to Golf Digest's Brian Wacker. "At the end of the day, you can only control what you do. You can't control everyone else. As long as I live life the way I feel like I'm supposed to, that's all I can do."

The 29-year-old received a two-shot penalty for improving his line of play during Friday's round. He was caught on video moving sand from behind his ball with two practice swings while in a waste area. The rules official determined excessive sand was moved, which incurred the penalty.

Reed remained adamant he didn't deliberately move the sand and it wasn't his intent to improve his lie or line of play. He told Dan Hicks and Paul Azinger of the NBC broadcast team that he didn't feel or see the sand move.

Following the ruling Friday, Reed believed that another camera angle would've told a different story.

"I think with a different camera angle they would have realized that if it was from the side, you would have seen that with the backswing, it was not improving the lie because it was far enough away from the golf ball," Reed said. "But after seeing that camera angle, because it brushed the sand, it was a penalty."

Reed received $250,000 for finishing alone in third in the 18-man field.

Comments
Reed feels he got raw deal after losing by 2 shots in Bahamas
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox