Oliver Wahlstrom struck first for the United States in the gold-medal game against Finland on Saturday night, but the goal was disallowed as U.S. forward Alexander Chmelevski was deemed to have made contact with goalie Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen in the crease.
The call was then upheld following a video review.
Rule 184 in the IIHF rulebook states that "any contact the attacking skater initiates with a goaltender, either directly or by pushing an opponent into the goaltender, also runs the risk of incurring a penalty or nullifying a goal."
Rule 186 states that "if an attacking skater makes contact with a goaltender in the goal crease during game action, he will be assessed a minor penalty for interference. If a goal is scored at this time, it will not count."