Watch: Panarin scores controversial shootout winner vs. Wild
Bruce Kluckhohn / National Hockey League / Getty

Artemi Panarin may have gotten away with one Thursday versus the Minnesota Wild.

The New York Rangers star had his name called in the shootout and delivered a goal after putting a series of moves on goaltender Alex Stalock. However, before he deposited the puck upstairs, Panarin came close to going backward, which would have caused the play to be blown dead.

The Wild called for the play to be reviewed, but the referees upheld their decision. Zach Parise then hit the post on his attempt and Minnesota lost 4-3.

After the controversial result, NHL public relations offered the following explanation:

Video review confirmed Panarin kept the puck in constant motion towards the goal line in his shootout attempt, therefore, scored legally. The decision was made in accordance with rule 24.2, which states in part, "The puck must be kept in motion towards the opponent's goal line and once it is shot, the play shall be considered complete."

Minnesota head coach Bruce Boudreau was none too pleased with the call.

"It should've been (called back). I just read the rule and the rule says the puck has to be going forward at all times. I may be blind, but it doesn't look like it was going forward at the end," he said, per The Athletic's Michael Russo.

By earning one point, the Wild now sit three points back of the second wild-card spot in the Western Conference. The victory for the Rangers was their third in a row.

Comments
Watch: Panarin scores controversial shootout winner vs. Wild
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox