Lithuanian coach furious with missed call in loss to France
WANG ZHAO / AFP / Getty

Warning: Video contains coarse language

After being down for the majority of a game Lithuania needed to win if it was to have an opportunity to advance to the quarterfinals of the FIBA World Cup, the Baltic nation stormed back against France to take the lead in the fourth quarter.

However, with Lithuania down one in the final 30 seconds, Jonas Valanciunas' game-tying free throw was illegally tipped out by Rudy Gobert - a call that was missed by officials, causing head coach Dainius Adomaitis to voice his displeasure postgame.

"These guys are spending all summer - two months - without families," Adomaitis said as he grabbed onto Valanciunas' shoulder after the loss. "They are receiving zero dollars. Biggest respect for them. But somebody don't respect this game."

The play in question would be legal in FIBA had Gobert's hand not made contact with the rim when he tipped it away. If it was ruled to be illegal goaltending, it would have resulted in two points since the play on the ball would be considered after the free throw, according to FIBA rules.

Officials have taken several opportunities to utilize the replay system throughout the tournament but chose against it during the crucial miss. French point guard Nando De Colo hit a contested two to push France's lead to 78-75 before Lithuania failed to connect on a game-tying triple, effectively eliminating it from the competition.

Comments
Lithuanian coach furious with missed call in loss to France
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
MORE STORIES
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox